More Job-Hunting

Wednesday, 2006-December-06 at 00:20

"We have an URGENT requirement for someone with your skillset," the message begins. Then the author goes into describing his recruiting firm, his client's firm, and finally, the skillset that he is looking for. "ASP, VBScript, Excel, Access, VBA for Excel."

Hey, wait a minute. I have zero ASP experience or even knowledge and acquaintance. Even though I haven't ever been employed to use the following, I do at least tinker with them at home:

  • Java Servlets and JavaServer Pages
  • Zope/Plone Python-powered content management system
  • Drupal PHP-powered content management system
  • Joomla! PHP-powered content management system
  • Perl CGI and mod-perl
  • mod-python
  • mod-rexx and Rexx Server Pages with RexxTags

I did get to use PHP for work for four months in 2004, and I've recently taken it back out.

Scripting: I tend to use bash (small amounts of csh/tcsh also), Python, a little bit of Perl, REXX, KiXtart (KIX), and (only if I have a book handy) VBScript/WMI for administrative tasks. For Web back-end scripting, it is mostly PHP, with small amounts of Perl, Python, Ruby, and Java. I am adding REXX to the mix as well.

Databases: I tend to use MySQL 5, with some use of Firebird 1.5 (hoping to upgrade to 2.0 soon), and PostgreSQL. I also use McKoi a little. I do not use any of them enough to become an expert, but I am hoping to be able to use whichever one is best suited to the need of a particular project.

Web server: I currently use Apache 2.0 or 2.2 for everything. I mainly use Tomcat for Java Web stuff, but I am experimenting a little bit with Jetty and with Enhydra /JoNaS .

Operating Systems: Linux, Linux, Linux. Oh, and FreeBSD , a minimal exposure to NetBSD (1.6 and 2.0 versions, mostly inside of VMWare) and DragonflyBSD . Through my employment, Windows 2000 Server and Windows Server 2003. I am talking server side here. On the client side, Windows 2000, Windows XP, and Linux (Ubuntu, Fedora, Gentoo, Xandros, Mepis, Mandriva, SUSE, and more). I have to say that I prefer Linux (and FreeBSD) to anything else.

Office suites: OpenOffice.org versions 1.1 and 2.x; MS Office 2003, XP/2002, and 2000; and some exposure to WordPerfect as well. I use KOffice and portions of GNOME Office (AbiWord, Gnumeric) also. Of course, I find that I have to be able to gain in knowledge in any job. If my mind is unfulfilled at work, I will be unsatisfied.

Locations: Currently interested primarily in Southern California's Inland Empire, plus the Reno/Sparks/Carson City and Las Vegas areas of Nevada and the Phoenix area of Arizona. Mild interest in the Atlanta Georgia area and Orlando Florida area also.

This isn't a resume, but merely a listing of the areas where my skills and interests lie. I am interested in possibly pursuing a Ph.D. Carnegie-Melon looks to have a very good program, highly intense and designed to satisfy that gnawing hunger to know more that burns within. It is also not designed to be so straight-jacketed and controlled as certain schools.1

I am very interested in the intersections between technology and smaller businesses, and in particular the advantages they gain from adopting free software and open source software , either of which may have a financial price involved in acquiring the software and its support plan, but which are generally less than the price of proprietary software.

1: They have a very structured procedure that calls for them calling you during your working hours (usually between 10 AM and noon). After several of these unwanted calls, I realized that this showed exactly how much flexibilty I could expect if I actually chose to go there, so I dropped them quickly.

Tags:

Entry filed under: Computers, Job-Hunting, Small Business, Software. Tags: .

Season’s Greetings Amusing Thoughts On Job-Hunting


RSS Slingshot

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Owner Managed Business

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 596,891 hits

SUBSCRIBE


