Job Hunting Progress Report

Thursday, 2006-December-14 at 20:00

Have you ever walked into somewhere and knew you did not match their qualifications, yet walked out feeling like you had a good shot at getting the job? That is what happened to me today.

I have been attending a particular local church since October, shortly after I returned home. It had been two years since I could attend church regularly, because of my work schedule. Once I was home again, I dragged myself (well, actually Micah dragged me) to a completely different church than we had been attending before. At one of the evening meetings (the youth-oriented one), I was reading the bulletin and saw that they were looking for someone.

Discussing what they need and the technologies that they use, much of what they need I am familiar with, although they have some items that I have never used. I met with the guy whose position I would be filling, and I felt really good about this. Best of all, it requires me to stretch and grow. By this point, my present employment has become repetitive and—yes—boring. I did not know someone that works with and around computers could ever get bored, but it has now happened.

Alan, who works for the agency, recently upgraded the operating system on the two systems I managed. Assuming that they even still run, I’m not going to be in charge of them any more. We used them to help us learn more and keep track of how we served our users. In other words, they were research systems, where we could try things out that were not quite officially approved. Since the department is getting more and more strict about what we could do with them, I am glad that they are back to a default state. They are now doing software compliance audits at various locations throughout the country. Since there are certain things that are installed on our users' computers because they are needed for the work we do, but which are not officially approved or licensed for such use, now would be a good time to pull the plug.

Entry filed under: Christianity, Job-Hunting. Tags: .

Promote Freedom: Use ISO-approved OASIS OpenDocument Format Free / Open Source, Free / Open Standards, and Accessibility


RSS Slingshot

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Owner Managed Business

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 596,891 hits

SUBSCRIBE


