Goodbye, 2006; Hello, 2007

Sunday, 2006-December-31 at 17:59

As I reflect back on this year, there are a number of things that I feel like I really could have done better.  Or maybe I just should have done something different.  And yet, this has been a year of exploration, of challenges, of growth, and of change.

The truth is, I generally did the best that I could do, given the priorities, resources, and conditions that were present at the time.  And so, I am really not going to make any big changes—that way there will be no late-January letdown when I don't follow through on these commitments.

Instead of making commitments to change in large and obvious ways, I am going to try to be just a little bit more of the things that make me who I am.

For example, I realize that I need to be more consistent in my daily Bible reading, study, and my prayer and devotional time.  I cannot commit myself to make big changes, but I can commit myself to keep better track of my progress.  If I am still not any more consistent about it, at least I won’t have the problem of not knowing how long it has been since I completely read through a chapter.

But that is who I am, the guy who used to figure my deductions to the one-hundredth of a percent, so that I could closely estimate how much money would be available from upcoming paychecks. I am the guy who took calculus classes during college terms in which I thought my load was "too easy", so that my brain would not rot.  There is a tendency to calculate and compute and order and sequence things, and I can use this tendency to my benefit.

So that is what I will attempt to do next year.  No big changes, just using who I already am more effectively.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Should We Rejoice? Google Docs, A Review Part 1


RSS Slingshot

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Owner Managed Business

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 596,905 hits

SUBSCRIBE


