Know What Fits You

Monday, 2007-June-11 at 19:47

After a couple of months pursuing a particular opening, the offer arrived. I had a growing feeling that this was not for me over the pursuit period, but the job had just about everything I have been looking for all rolled up into one package. So it was no surprise to me that I turned down the offer, even though I would have probably snapped it up just a couple of weeks earlier.

This has nothing to do with the company and little to do with their offer. At this time in my life, that job with that company just did not fit.

You have to know what fits you. Your personality, your economic needs or desires, your family status, your schedule. For example, my dog wants me to come home each evening before 9 or 10 PM. How do I know? The dog gives me the silent treatment when I’m late or when I come back after leaving town for a while. Therefore, any opportunity I look at needs to be mostly in one location and it needs to have most of its working hours in the daytime or early evening.

Sometimes, even additional money can not overcome the “non-fit” of the job. In that case, turn it down and walk away. Know what fits you and do not allow fear to make you take something that clearly does not fit.

Entry filed under: Job-Hunting. Tags: .

A Few Conflicts In A Longer Struggle Come On In, The Water’s Fine


RSS Slingshot

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Owner Managed Business

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 596,895 hits

SUBSCRIBE


