Joining The 21st Century

Sunday, 2007-August-12 at 13:47

This trip to New Jersey has been good for me.  There is a lot of beautiful green everywhere, so I finally bought a camera.  The roads are confusing, so I finally bought a GPS.

I had to laugh about the GPS.  I thought I was the only person in the civilized world who hadn’t bought one yet.  But at home, I know the streets, so why do I need a GPS?  When I found that Mark Pilgrim didn't have one yet either, I knew I’d have to get one soon.

The Magellan was on sale at Best Buy on a day when I had to make a run to the northern part of the state.  I did not need to be lost all day, so I purchased the GPS on the way.  It has been a good, but not perfect, experience.  At the Newark Liberty Airport, for example, it couldn’t map me to my next destination until I had driven about five miles South already.  Similarly, for last night's baseball game, from my parking spot, it was lost, but once I started moving (still in the parking lot), it woke up and found how to get me back here.

Of course, the usual warnings apply.  Don’t watch the maps, let the voice tell you when to turn.  If the unit tells you to do something dangerous or illegal, use your head.  Do not throw in swimming pools.

Entry filed under: Personal. Tags: .

Atlantic League Baseball: Road Warriors Vs. Patriots Mint: Experience After A Few Months


RSS Slingshot

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Owner Managed Business

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 596,441 hits

SUBSCRIBE


