Claws – My New Mail Client

Tuesday, 2008-March-04 at 19:59 1 comment

I’ve written before about Thunderbird and Evolution mail clients.  I have been using T-bird and Kmail as my e-mail clients for a while.  A few days ago, I started using Claws, and am now in the process of installing it throughout the house.

Right off the bat, Claws is designed to be easily configured.  Entering IMAP settings for Gmail was a snap, much quicker than it has ever been with any other client.  Entering POP3 settings for my other e-mail service was also a snap.  I did not have to try and simulate having separate mailboxes using filters as I did in Evolution—nor did I have to create subfolders and use filters as in Kmail—and it does not try to force me to use one account for all of my outgoing mail, the way that T-bird does.

Claws, like any other piece of software, is not perfect.  If it is trying to talk to your mail server and the connection is slow, rather than time out and go on to something else, it drags on and on (I finally killed it and started over).

If you are looking for a decent cross-platform mail client, check out Claws.

My four-month assignment just ended Friday, so I am home.

Entry filed under: Software. Tags: , .

BRM Reports Trickle In Big G Tells Time

1 Comment

  • 1. Why Not Use Evolution Mail Client? « Opportunity Knocks  |  Friday, 2008-March-07 at 12:30

    […] Update 2008-03-07: For those who are still willing to use Evolution, check out Joel's advice in the comments.  Otherwise, check out Claws, which is my current mail client software. […]


RSS Slingshot

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Owner Managed Business

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 596,891 hits

SUBSCRIBE


