You Know, Stuff!

Wednesday, 2008-May-07 at 18:21

I have not been impressed with the way so many organizations have held on to the relatively insecure and non-standards-conformant MSIE 6, even after the US CERT recommended using anything but IE6 as a way to improve security.

Recently, I’m finally starting to see a move away from IE6 toward IE7.  I am all for that, even if I would prefer Opera or Firefox instead of IE7 or in addition to IE7.  This is good news for everyone except for the vendors whose obsolete products that are still in use depend upon some IE6-specific behaviors and the administrators and internal support staff at sites which are still using those products.  Installing IE7 does re-enable the language bar, so your staff members may have to touch every user's PC to turn it off.

The other thing is that SP3 for WinXP is available for download for at least some users.  It isn’t approved yet in my workplace, but I did see it on MSUpdate.

Hey, Adobe!  Why must you litter the desktop with icons for your PDF reader software?  Nearly 100% of users will open the application by double-clicking a file, rather than going to the desktop to open the application and then search through the file hierarchy for the file they want to read.

After two months at home, it is good to be back at work, except for the ceiling fragments dropping down my shirt.  I don't think I've ever been to Ohio before, so this is something new.  Marc, I'll come visit when I get a day off, so you can see my grandbaby pictures.

Entry filed under: Software. Tags: .

Why You Should Avoid Buying Music With TUR/DRM National Standards: ODF March Continues


RSS Slingshot

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Owner Managed Business

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 596,480 hits

SUBSCRIBE


