Travel And Personal Technology

Friday, 2008-July-04 at 14:02

A blog posting by Bruce Scheier is interesting. Many of us travel on business. Typically, when I travel, I am away for two to four months.

In such a situation, you do what you can to prevent it, but you are always aware that what you pack may end up in some TSA employee's garage. I have generally had the opinion that if you do not buy the newest, shiniest items, thieves will tend to go after someone else's stuff. It is a variation on the practice of not carrying a lot of cash around. (In my case, there is a 20 year-old at home, so there isn't much cash anyway.)

Until fairly recently, I had a Dell laptop with 320MB of RAM that did not even do wireless. Over the past year, that became my stay-home laptop because the hotels have all gone wireless now. I then pulled out a newer computer, purchased about three years ago, which has 512MB of RAM. Just recently, it proved inadequate, so I am now travelling with a modern computer.

It is not just computers where I practice this. My phone is a prepaid, so that I can only lose so much if it gets lost or stolen. What is this American thing of travelling with expensive toys dangling like costume jewelry? If our cities were anywhere near as dangerous as we believe them to be, a lot of clearly visible potential victims would no longer be "potential" victims.

The Rolex, fake or not? Dump it. Get a $30 special from Target. A lot of our problems come from our obsession with owning expensive toys and displaying them in public to enjoy the envious looks from other people. Once you stop trying to impress others with your toys, you can get back to trying to make the world a better place for the next generation, and the next generation better people.

My granddaughter is walking. That is far more important to me than the most expensive toy.

Entry filed under: Society. Tags: .

A Taste Of Vista II RMS: It’s not the Gates, it’s the bars


RSS Slingshot

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Owner Managed Business

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 596,905 hits

SUBSCRIBE


