Firefox OOXML Plugin

Thursday, 2008-December-04 at 21:03

Ten years’ difference in age makes a big difference. I don’t hear from BT all the time, but I know he’s thinking about me (and waiting for my next visit to see his daughter, my granddaughter). In fact, I found out he’d moved and changed telephone numbers by sending e-mail about planning a visit. MJ, on the other hand, rarely misses a daily telephone call, and often does not know about things I’ve communicated via e-mail.

But this isn’t a book about raising young men. BT shared a link about a new Firefox plugin (for Windows and Linux, sorry Mac users) that enables users to view OOXML files in Firefox like a Web page. I have not yet installed it or tested it, but I wanted to let the readers know about it. The plugin is downloadable on Microsoft’s CodePlex site.

I should also mention OpenItOnline, which also works as a Firefox plugin. According to the site, “Open IT Online supports the following file types: *.doc, *.rtf, *.odt, *.sxw, *.xls, *.csv, *.ods, *.sxc, *.ppt, *.pps, *.odp, *.sxi, *.jpg, *.gif, *.png.”

In either case, try it out and see how it works for your needs.

By the way, I’m proud of both of these guys.

Entry filed under: ODF, OOXML. Tags: .

Despite Some Teething Pains, ODF’s Vendor-Neutral Approach The Best Way Forward Pasadena’s Own Buy-Local Effort


RSS Slingshot

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Owner Managed Business

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 596,891 hits

SUBSCRIBE


