Component for Joomla! 1.0 Web CMS Helps Sites Index ODF Files

Tuesday, 2009-February-24 at 21:28 2 comments

Joomla add-ons – ODT Indexer

The ODT indexer component will extend the Joomla search function with the ability to search through the content of indexed .odt files. One of the best known programs that will allow you to open and edit .odt files is OpenOffice.org.

You can add the path to your document in the backend, the component will read and index your file. The mambot that comes with this component will search through the indexed content for matches.

The component does not support the current version 1.5 of Joomla!. It is still helpful to those running the older version of Joomla! on their sites, but one should be aware that there has been no update since 2006. There is no indication on Joomla-Addons.org whether the component also supports Mambo, the project that Joomla! branched off from.

I am looking into addons for Joomla! 1.5+, Mambo 4.6+, Drupal 6+, and similar content management systems. What I’d like to see is tools that accept content-postings as ODF files, tools that will export content articles as exported .odt, .ods, and .odp files, and tools that index and search ODF files stored on a site. I will post anything find anything out right here on Opportunity Knocks.

,

Powered by ScribeFire.

Entry filed under: ODF, Web. Tags: .

Thanks Tracking The Tab

2 Comments

  • 1. Jody  |  Wednesday, 2009-March-18 at 05:46

    I saw your post here: http://blogs.webconnectconsulting.com/nukeblogs/cnbblog.php?itemid=421 and saw it referenced my post on my Xanga. I don’t know why, but I felt like I should respond, but wasn’t able to there. I hope you don’t me tracking you to here.

    I was a believer when I found the strength to forgive. And I was able to do so only because I knew I’d be calling God a liar if I didn’t. If I refused to forgive then Christ died for nothing.

    I said “was a believer” because I’m in a dark place right now…really struggling to still have faith. I think I am emerging from it with a deeper faith, and I guess that’s the real reason I wanted to respond to you. It’s seeing response posts like yours that make me remember what God has done.

    Thank you.

  • 2. Jody  |  Wednesday, 2009-March-18 at 05:47

    I mistyped my site for the url. This one is fixed. Just in case you wanted to respond to me.


RSS Slingshot

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Owner Managed Business

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 596,895 hits

SUBSCRIBE


