Minty Again Soon

Friday, 2009-October-02 at 02:17 2 comments

In “No Longer Minty Fresh“, I recounted my reasoning for “upstreaming” from Linux Mint to Ubuntu. Essentially, I disliked that I would not be receiving current security updates. Since then, I’ve lived through Kubuntu’s move to KDE4 (disasterous… KDE4 is seriously broken and almost unusable… I now use XFCE4 and LXDE [and occasionally OpenBox or IceWM] instead) and the Ubuntu PulseAudio breakage (lost audio in Ubuntu/Xubuntu/Kubuntu 9.04 “Jaunty Jackalope” 32-bit and 64-bit versions). I’m nearing seven months in Missouri, working around 12 hours per day, 6 days per week. When I come “home” to the hotel room, I don’t want to fight with my computer (or I could go to Best Buy and pick up a replacement with Vista on it). I want it to do what I want it to do without resisting, and without dire warnings that I might see Microsoft’s Barney underwear if I view hidden and system files, and without someone (whether in Canonical / Ubuntu or in Microsoft) rushing a non-ready product out to hit some deadline set by executives. So “broken” isn’t going to be acceptable.

I also bought a laptop for one of my nephews. I installed Linux Mint for him instead of Ubuntu, reasoning that Mint’s slower pace of updates means less chance of breakage, even if it also means they are slower to support certain peripherals. (Another one got a Dell Mini 10v netbook–running Ubuntu, of course.) Mint has a well-deserved reputation for being “improved Ubuntu”, just as Ubuntu is “a pretty face and reliable applications atop a stable Debian core”.

I’m looking to replace this laptop soon, as in within the next year. Linux Mint is the top candidate to go on the next one. (Fedora, SimplyMEPIS, gNewSense, Ubuntu, and OpenSuse are also being considered.) Yes, I know I had purchased another and even upgraded it from Vista to Ubuntu. But HP skimped on the screen resolution, and it bothered me that I couldn’t view windows as I’m accustomed to viewing them. So I popped in the Vista restore CD and gave the computer to MJ. I even saw an announcement that said that Lenovo would be shipping OpenSuse-powered lappies, and tried to order one. Learned my lesson–do not do business with Lenovo–but they did return my funds eventually.

I’d love it if Toshiba shipped a decent lappy that wasn’t infected with the HE11N0 flu (Infesticus microsoftii spp. Vistus, otherwise known as Windows), especially if Best Buy offered computers with your choice of the three major operating systems pre-installed or at least an install-your-own-OS option. (Question: how can they be the “best” buy, when they can’t offer you a full selection of available operating systems and software? How is it “best” if you have to settle for something that doesn’t meet your needs or go elsewhere?) I did look at Dell’s site, but it looks like they haven’t updated their Linux models in a while. The Linux-powered laptop I saw was seriously outdated in comparison with their Windows-powered models. I haven’t checked in a while, so they may have updated the product line.

I am very likely to return to Linux Mint when I buy the new computer. At that time, I’ll move the data I choose to keep onto an external hard drive (EXT3 or EXT4 formatted, of course), then sledge this lappy’s hard drive (that is, smash it with a sledgehammer), and then bring the data to the new computer. I think I’ll name it TOENAIL, because it’ll spend most of its time in the case (shoe / sock) wherever I’m currently working.

Entry filed under: Linux. Tags: .

Can’t Browse Web, Can Ping and E-mail Officeshots: View ODF Compatibilty

2 Comments

  • 1. No Longer Minty-Fresh « Opportunity Knocks  |  Friday, 2009-October-02 at 03:01

    […] I’m pretty likely to be back to Mint soon. The old laptop is slowly dying, and there were enough pains in the upgrade to Ubuntu 9.04 that I’ll be glad for a more stable distribution. […]

  • 2. Fresh, Minty Taste « Opportunity Knocks  |  Sunday, 2009-November-01 at 06:10

    […] I have related a few times over the past few years how I converted my main laptop, the one that goes with me when I’m working, from Windows XP to Linux Mint, then upstreamed it to Ubuntu because I wasn’t happy with Mint’s updates policy. Later, when I upgraded Ubuntu to 9.04 “Jaunty Jackalope”, there were some rough edges, including non-working sound. At that point, I appreciated Mint’s philosophy of trying to keep things more stable. […]


RSS Slingshot

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Owner Managed Business

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 596,482 hits

SUBSCRIBE


