How to buy a Dell WITHOUT windows (via life one degree north, one-o-three degrees east)

Tuesday, 2010-December-28 at 18:27

A couple of years ago, I spent about two months trying to buy a Lenovo laptop without Windows and then waiting for my refund when they wouldn’t accomodate me. (To this day, I don’t recommend anyone attempt to do business directly with Lenovo. They could easily have told me up front that the system I saw on their site was no longer available.)

I have purchased Dell’s N-series a couple of times, (by entering www.dell.com/ubuntu to get there) and have noticed that they are nearly always months behind the comparable Windows machine in hardware specs. But this intrigues me. I think I will attempt the same thing next time I have the funds and the desire to buy a computer. Either that, or I’ll head directly over to System76.

And by the way, if Dell were at all serious about Linux, they would make sure that everything they make has certified Penguin-compatible hardware. That way, even those who pay the "Windows tax" have the option of replacing it with a privacy-respecting, freedom-preserving operating system. My nephew and I have Dell lappies that were bought at retail stores. Both have Broadcom BC-4312 wireless cards that only work when they feel like it (using either the open b43 driver or the company’s binary sta driver).

How to buy a Dell WITHOUT windows I was asked by a friend to get a Fedora CD to her and her friend so that their children can learn to use Linux.  I suggested that I will help by shipping the Live CDs as well as spending some time (along with my 2 sons) to teach their sons how to use Linux. Then the request came back asking where can they get a new laptop without Windows and that prompted my revisiting the Dell.com website to see if I can get a machine without 'oze.I have a Dell … Read More

via life one degree north, one-o-three degrees east

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Quick Thoughts On Diaspora Untitled


RSS Slingshot

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Owner Managed Business

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 596,895 hits

SUBSCRIBE


